News & Media

1991 race report

The men’s race

Soviet steals the show
London hosted the IAAF/ADT World Marathon Cup, the first time that an IAAF championship had been incorporated with an ‘existing mass participation’ race. The result was one of the finest in-depth fields ever assembled for a marathon outside a major championship.

The relatively unknown Soviet Yakov Tolstikov stole the show by breaking away from a huge leading pack at 14 miles and opening up a winning lead. He won in 2:09:17, a personal best. The team title went to the hosts, Great Britain.

The women’s race

Mota motors to title
Rosa Mota, the reigning world and Olympic champion, won the women’s race in 2:26:14. The Soviet Union won the women’s team title.

The wheelchair race

Flying Frenchman first
Farid Amarouche broke the course record to win the 9th London Wheelchair Marathon with a sprint over the last 200m that took him clear of four rivals. Amarouche clocked 1:52:52 after the most exciting finish so far, beating fellow Frenchman Jean Francois Poitevin, two Swedes Bo Lindkvist and Hakan Ericsson and Canadian Daniel Wesley.

David Holding was the first Briton in 6th, having lost touch with the leaders at 18 miles. Lindkvist was runner-up, just 2 seconds ahead of Poitevin with Wesley 4th, 15 minutes quicker than his previous best.

Connie Hansen retained the women’s title. The Dane was again in a class of her own and ran out an easy winner in 2:04:40, breaking her own 1 year old course record.