Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson, eleven-time Paralympic champion and six-time London Marathon champion, will be the official starter of the elite women’s and men’s races at the Virgin Money London Marathon on Sunday 4 October.

Seb Coe, originally announced as starter, is now unable to attend for unavoidable reasons.

Nick Bitel, Chief Executive of London Marathon Events, said: “We are honoured that Dame Tanni, a legend in Paralympic sport, winner of the 2019 BBC Sports Personality Lifetime Achievement Award and, for many years a Director of London Marathon Events, is our official starter for The 40th Race.”

David Duffy, Chief Executive of Virgin Money, is the official starter of the elite wheelchair race.