Daniel Romanchuk and Manuela Schar, the number-one ranked wheelchair racers on the planet, will return to defend their titles at the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon.

Schar (SUI) has won a phenomenal nine straight Abbott World Marathon Majors races, a streak that started at the BMW Berlin Marathon in 2018 and includes last year’s Virgin Money London Marathon.

The 35-year-old has won the past two Abbott World Marathon Majors series titles and is one of the most dominant athletes in any sport anywhere in the world at this moment.

Schar - who also holds the Virgin Money London Marathon course record (1:39:57) and the world record holder (1:36:53) - said: “It has been an incredible period in my career. I know I am in an amazing run of form and I will be doing all I can in 2020 to make sure that continues.

“I love racing at the Virgin Money London Marathon. London is a fantastic city and the supporters along the route are always amazing so I can’t wait to return.”

Schar is one of five previous London winners in the elite women’s wheelchair field for 2019.

Four-time champion Tatyana McFadden and 2018 winner Madison de Rozario (AUS), who were second and third last year respectively, are both returning as is Sandra Graf (SUI), champion in 2008.

Shelly Woods , the last British winner of the elite women’s wheelchair race,  returns to the race for the first time since giving birth to her son, Leo, in 2017.

Woods won the London Marathon in 2007 and 2012 and won a silver medal in the marathon at the 2012 Paralympics in London.

The men’s race promises to be another clash of youth versus experience as Romanchuk (USA) does battle once again with two-time London winner Marcel Hug and the most decorated athlete in the event’s history, David Weir, who has won the race on eight occasions and will line up in the event for the 21st consecutive time.

The Virgin Money London Marathon will be the fifth race in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XIII schedule. With two races already completed (the 2019 Bank of America Chicago Marathon and 2019 TCS New York City Marathon), Schar and Romanchuk have dominant leads in the standings. The other races in the series are this year’s Tokyo Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Paralympic Marathon and BMW Berlin Marathon before the series concludes at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

Elite women's wheelchair field

Manuela Schar Switerland T54 01:28.17
Susannah Scaroni USA T54 01:33.17
Tatyana McFadden USA T54 01:35.05
Madison De Rozario Australia T53 01:39.22
Sandra Graf Switzerland T54 01:35.44
Christie Dawes Australia T54 01:37.14
Shelly Woods Great Britain T54 01:38.08
Margriet van den Broek Netherlands T54 01:38.33
Zou Lihong China T54 01:38.44
Tsubasa Kina Japan T54 01:39.36

Elite men's wheelchair field

Marcel Hug Switerland T54 01:18.04
Ernst van Dyk South Africa T54 01:18.04
Josh Cassidy Canada T54 01:18.25
Hiroyuki Yamamoto Japan T54 01:19.32
Heinz Frei Switzerland T53 01:20.14
Hiroki Nishida Japan T54 01:20.28
Joshua George USA T54 01:21.47
Rafael Botello Jimenez Spain T54 01:22.09
David Weir Great Britain T54 01:26.17
Daniel Romanchuk USA T54 01:21.36