With the General Election just days away, the focus is on campaigning but the 16 MPs who took on the 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon set a new political record for the biggest number of MPs ever to complete the marathon, shattering the previous record total of nine.

The first to cross the line was Rehman Chishti, MP for Gillingham and Rainham, achieving a debut time of three hours thirty-four minutes and twenty-two seconds (3:34:22).

Chishti said: “It was a real privilege and an honour to be able to run the Virgin Money London Marathon, one of the best sporting events in the world. It was an amazing atmosphere. Thank you to all involved in organising it.  At the half way point I was looking at just over 3 hours. The last 6 miles were tough, with an injured foot and cramps. As they say, no pain no gain. The brilliant cheering crowds providing encouragement, jelly babies, and water, plus the memory of my wonderful friend Cllr Mike O’Brien, in whose memory I ran for Cancer Research, got me through to the finish."

Chishti finished ahead of Alun Cairns, the Secretary of State for Wales and the only Cabinet Minister ever to have run a London Marathon, who finished in 3:36:45. Chris Evans, MP for Islwyn, who last ran the event in 2015, improved his time by 47 minutes.

The three women MPs who ran (another record) included two first time marathon runners in Mims Davies (MP for Eastleigh) and Hannah Bardell (MP for Livingstone). Davies tweeted on the day: “Loved being out there today! What an incredible experience.” Bardell also tweeted: “Exhausted but exhilarated, what an amazing day. Thanks to everyone round the course for keeping us all going.”

Amanda Solloway, MP for North Derby, took more than 21 minutes off last years’ time, clocking 6:55:45. 70 year old Sir Kevin Barron became not only the first knighted MP to run but also the oldest MP ever to have taken part. He last ran ten years ago and finished in sub 6 hours 30.

Graham Evans, MP for Weaver Vale, said: “As Chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Running, it’s been my ambition to get more Parliamentarians running and this year I was incredibly proud that a record 16 MPs had decided to run the London Marathon. Some of the runners, like fellow Cheshire MP Edward Timpson, are veterans of the London Marathon, but for others like Mims Davies and Nic Dakin, it was a brave first attempt. Running has gone from strength to strength across the country and I hope that my efforts as Chairman of the Running APPG have helped my colleagues see how step by step anyone can take on the London Marathon.

“I’m really pleased to have finished the marathon for the sixth time. It’s a terrific event which raises millions for good causes and there is no greater feeling than running up The Mall to the Finish Line hearing all the spectators cheering you on – a rarity for a politician!”

MP Finish Times

MP Party Constituency Time
Rehman Chishti Conservative MP for Gillingham and Rainham 3:34:22
Alun Cairns Conservative Secretary of State for Wales and MP for Vale of Glamorgan 3:36:45
Dan Jarvis Labour MP for Barnsley Central 3:47:17
Edward Timpson Conservative MP for Crewe and Nantwich (Minister of State – Education) 3:57:51
Chris Green Conservative MP for Bolton West 4:16:56
Jonathan Ashworth Labour MP for Leicester South 4:19:46
Chris Evans Labour MP for Islwyn 4:20:10
Graham Evans Conservative MP for Weaver Vale 4:32:17
Scott Mann Conservative MP for North Cornwall 4:50:54
Simon Danczuk Independent MP for Rochdale 5:06:15
Jonathan Djanogly Conservative MP for Huntingdon 5:08:05
Nic Dakin Labour MP for Cleethorpes 5:31:17
Mims Davies Conservative MP for Eastleigh 5:35:52
Hannah Bardell SNP MP for Livingstone 6:06:54
Amanda Solloway Conservative MP for Derby North 6:55:45
Sir Kevin Barron Labour MP for Rother Valley 6:28:43

All the results from the 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon can be found here